reply

Posted:

$550 / 1200ft² - Charming, furnished 15 min to Ann Arbor ~ co-op house (Ypsilanti)

image 1image 2image 3image 4image 5image 6image 7image 8image 9image 10image 11image 12
Catherine at Washington

(google map) (yahoo map)

1200ft2
room not private no private bath
dogs are OK - wooof


Since I get swamped daily with spammers trying to get a reply please note that: If you write me asking "is the room still available?" I will assume you are a spammer. If the room weren't available, I would take the ad down asap. Thanks for understanding


Ypsi house is looking for a mature person(s) ~ someone who works on themselves, knows you're not perfect, feels communicating is something you can work on, as well as giving others a helping hand when its clear that's needed. You're also interested in helping create a
new household community, sharing organic gardening/sustainable living practices in an urban setting where we share in chores, gardening, digging dirt and cooking.
Share an entire, welcoming and spacious house, and share/co-create an organic garden project together with others. We usually have 3 or 4 members, currently are 2.
2 progressive Ypsi houses share a garden area together -- two openings currently in Historic So Side 1860 house. Private & antique furnished bedroom Smaller bedroom $550/mo, includes access to full house with hi speed wireless, washer/dryer, disposal, dishwasher, small enclosed private back yard with barbecue/table area use of guest room for guest and bathroom. For couple add $200 for extra person per room, and per person share of utilities. Larger bedroom $600/mo Features: fully furnished, Individualized lease, washer and dryer, Utilities include: cable, internet, trash, Only responsible for fair share portion of utilities bill ~ ie bills divided by #of household members - usually @$50 average.

Please note: This is a non-smoking house, ~ we keep the co-op house clean via sharing chores and clean up ~~ for both the house and the garden. Little TV except the occasional movie. Working toward being a small carbon footprint home, opening windows at night (summer) and closed during the heat of the day. We try to recycle everything we can and are compost all organic waste for the garden, so this is something you need to be motivated to do or learn. In the winter you're fine with working with keeping a fire going when home ~ our fireplace insert which functions like a woodstove so that we can use a renewable fuel to reduce heat costs. You can heat a pot of tea on the stove or a pot of soup...its fun.

You: You love organic gardening, are an aspiring urban farmer or admirer of urban farming, enjoy both sharing the responsibility & process of working in one as well ..as eating the produce. You're resourceful and not afraid of doing hard work like turning compost or digging up weeds, plants, building raised beds, or taking out the garbage/compost.

~ you're the sort of person who enjoys taking care of the place you live in and takes initiative to pick up branches in the yard and put them in the kindling pile (not decide that's your 'landlord's' problem), trash to the trash bin, and problem solve and fix a rain barrel that seems to not be working right, or to see helping plan and 'barn raise' a hoop-house as great stuff you're wanting to roll up your sleeves and do.

You're the sort who would absolutely know that in any situation you have everyday house chores to do, and you are used to doing them, ~~~~~ this of course along with the new "sustainability" chores like filling a wood box, emptying the fireplace ash, taking a turn with planting or weeding in the garden, watering the garden, sharing in the weeding of the garden, turning compost....

Openings in house as housemate for someone who is thinking long term for Ypsi, ~ who plans to be around and knows a sense of commitment to projects and who's open to co-oping/sharing with others, and wanting to work on community, communicating, working thru problems with others with care.

Interested? Please send an email about yourself w/your telephone number & a real email address:

  • 1) Work/Profession/passion
  • 2) Why you want to live in a coop, and what a co-op means to you?
  • 3) Why you are leaving your current place?
  • 4) What you would add to our cooperative (talents, skills, experience)
  • 5) Say a bit about your past cooperative/gardening/workshare living experience
  • 6) What you do in your free time, interests/hobbies/talents
  • 7) Weeknights when you can interview
  • 8) Phone #
  • 9) Can you afford the rent? ~ have a stable work situation?
  • 10) Do you understand that doing a garden together means you need to be around to put the garden in together and to nurture it along for the season? Experience?
  • 11) Do you like to cook, what do you like? omnivore, vegetarian, vegan?
  • 12) What do you do to stay centered during times that are challenging/difficult ~ a routine or spiritual practice?


Surrounding communities within 15 minutes: Ann Arbor Canton Willis Plymouth Milan Saline South Lyon Keywords: Sustainability, permaculture, city farming, organic garden, community garden, Eastern Michigan University, co-op housing, cooperative house, co-op living, urban farm, city farm,
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 4339142278

posted:

updated:

email to friend

best of [?]